Bayelsa Govt pledges more support to sports development


By Eunice Nnachi

Bayelsa State Government on Thursday restated its commitment towards encouraging the growth and development of sports in the state.

The state Deputy Governor, Senator Lawrence Ewhrudjakpo, stated this while addressing political appointees and civil servants who participated in the second edition of the weekly jogging exercise tagged “Prosperity Walk” at the Samson Siasia Sports Complex in Yenagoa.

Emphasising on the importance of the exercise, Senator Ewhrudjakpo, who is the Coordinator of the weekly programme encouraged the participants and Bayelsa people to find time for bodily exercise.

According to him, exercising appropriately would enhance fitness by burning calories and improving the metabolic process in the human body.

He said the present administration recognizes the contributions of sports towards the stability and development of society, and therefore, would continue to give the sector all necessary support.

Senator Ewhrudjakpo used the opportunity to congratulate the Bayelsa paralympic team that recently made the state proud by emerging as overall winners of the maiden edition of the National Para Sports Festival in Abuja.

The Deputy Governor added that as part of efforts geared towards motivating sportsmen and women in the state, the government would make time to receive and honour the team soon.

In an interview, the state Table Tennis Coach, Mr Esau Ozebida, described the state government’s declaration of every Thursday morning for jogging as a welcome development that would promote healthy living in the state.

He commended the Governor Douye Diri-led administration for taking sports development seriously but stressed the need for the government to provide more facilities for the special athletes such as wheelchair table tennis.

Participants at the second edition of the Prosperity Walk included the Bayelsa Firstlady, Dr Gloria Diri, Wife of the Deputy Governor, Barrister (Mrs) Beatrice Ewhrudjakpo, Deputy Speaker of the state House of Assembly, Hon Mike Ogbere, Head of Service, Mrs Biobelemoye Charles-Onyema, Commissioners and other top government functionaries.