Yenagoa/Kolokuma Federal Constituency Primaries Transparent, Rancour-Free – Gov. Diri



Bayelsa state Governor Senator Douye Diri has described the conduct of the Yenagoa/Kolokuma Federal Constituency primaries as peaceful, transparent and devoid of rancour.

Senator Diri stated this on Monday at the Samson Siasia Sports Complex, Yenagoa where the election took place.

Speaking to journalists shortly after the exercise in Yenagoa, the headquarters of the Yenagoa/Kolokuma Federal Constituency, the governor congratulated Hon. Oforji Oboku, member representing Yenagoa constituency One in the State House of Assembly for emerging winner having scored the highest votes of 74 out of the 79 total votes cast.

A statement by his Chief Press Secretary Mr Daniel Alabrah quoted the governor as commending the leadership of the party for promoting democratic principles by ensuring internal democracy.

According to Senator Diri, “the only things that enhance democracy are the party’s transparency, honesty and fairness which have been demonstrated here today.

“Everybody is given equal rights and opportunities to contest. I commend the winner, Hon Oforji Oboku who has been magnanimous in victory as he has said that there is no winner and no vanquished in the primaries.

“I equally want to commend those who conceded defeat and for giving their assurance that they would continue to work for the success of the party.”

Senator Diri who lauded the delegates for conducting themselves peacefully, equally applauded efforts of members of the National Working Committee for working relentlessly to entrench democratic ideals and taking the party to greater heights.

In his remarks, Chairman of the PDP House of Representatives Primaries Committee for Bayelsa state, Senator Chukwuka Utasi expressed satisfaction with the way and manner the primaries were conducted in the state.

In his acceptance speech, Hon Oforji Oboku expressed gratitude to the delegates for electing him and described the outcome of the primaries as no winner, no vanquished.

He said having been elected as the standard bearer of the PDP, he would collaborate with members to work for the interest of the party, adding that PDP would win all the 24 state Assembly seats as well as the House of Representatives and senatorial seats.

Other contestants were, Diekivie Okolovie Obhuo who scored 5 votes, Hon Romanus Lott with zero votes, while Hon Gentle Emelah was absent.