2023: Chris Azubogu wins APGA Primary election for Anambra South with 3 votes


By Tony Oraeki, Awka

Serving member representing Nnewi North and South, Ekwusigo Federal Constituency of Anambra state, Hon. Chris Emeka Azobogu, has won the Anambra South Senatorial primary of the All Progressive Grand Alliance, APGA.

Azubogu defeated his closest rival, Hon. Ben Nwankwo, in a keenly contested election with three votes.

Declaring Hon. Azubogu the winner, Barrister Stephen Nwogu, the returning officer of the Committee that organised the primary said Azubogu scored 116 votes to win the election.

Other contestants, Hon. Ben Nwankwo score 113 votes, Chief Emmanuel Nwachukwu-75 vote while Chief Akachukwu Nwamkpo, polled 44 votes.

Speaking to Journalists shortly after the process held at Prof. Dora Akunyilli Women Development Centre, Awka, Barrister Nwogu, described the election as peaceful, adding that delegates and aspirants conducted themselves in an orderly manner in line with APGA Constitution.

The party’s primary for Anambra South senatorial district was cancelled last week, due to disruption by political thugs.

It was gathered that the Azubogu will slug it out at the poll with Senator Ifeanyi Ubah, of the Young Progressive Party, YPP, Chief Chris Uba, of the People Democratic Party, PDP and Chief Chukwuma Umeoji, for the All Progressive, APC.