Wednesday, August 10, 2022
Google search engine
HomeGlobal News“Encounters through the Lens” China-Africa Youth Video Competition Execution Plan

“Encounters through the Lens” China-Africa Youth Video Competition Execution Plan


1.Event title: “Encounters through the Lens” China-Africa Youth Video Competition

2.Theme: Chinese and African young people work together for a China-Africa community with a shared future in the new era

3.Timeline: July to September 2022
4.Form: Online

China Media Group (CMG) Africa will host the event, co-organized by Chinese research institutes and universities including China Institute of International Studies, Tsinghua University, Communication University of China, and Zhejiang University as well as partnering media from African countries.

An organization committee will be set up for the competition in charge of event planning, organization, and coordination.

China-Africa Youth Video Competition is scheduled to be held online from July through September and will include three stages.

In the first stage, call for entries will be between July 25 and August 25. Notices will be posted on the digital platforms of, CGTN and its sub-division CGTN Africa as well as websites such as South Africa’s Independent Online, Rwanda’s Africa-China Review, and Kenya Broadcasting Corporation.

In the second stage, evaluation and selection will be between August 26 and September 9. Submitted videos will be evaluated through both online vote and expert review.

In the third stage, the competition results will be announced on September 10. The winning videos will be released on CGTN Africa and mainstream African media platforms.

IV.Platforms for Release
The competition results and evaluation process will be released on the CMG platforms of CGTN, CCTV-13, Yangshipin, and App as well as partnering media including Independent Online (IOL), Kenya Broadcasting Corporation, Nigerian Television Authority, Tanzania Broadcasting Corporation, and NBC Ethiopia.

V.Judging Panel
Ten experts including Grégoire Ndjaka, the Chief Executive Officer of African Union of Broadcasting; Iqbal Survé, the Executive Chairman of Independent Media; Xu Bu, the President of China Institute of International Studies; and Fan Zhizhong, Vice Dean of College of Media and International Culture, Zhejiang University will be invited to form a judging panel. The full list is below:

No. Title Name

1 CEO, African Union of Broadcasting Grégoire Ndjaka

2 Executive Chairman, Independent Media, South Africa Iqbal Survé

3 Director General, National Broadcasting Commission, Nigeria Balarabe Shehu Ilelah

4 President, China Institute of International Studies Xu Bu

5 Vice Dean, College of Media and International Culture, Zhejiang University Fan Zhizhong

6 Associate Dean,  School of Journalism and Communication, Tsinghua
University Zhou Qing’an

7 Professor, School of Journalism and Communication and deputy director, Institute of Public Diplomacy, Renmin University of China Zhong Xin

8 Associate Professor, Broadcasting and Anchoring School, Communication University of China Song Xiaoyang

9 CEO, African Women in Media Yemisi Akinbobola

10 Chief Editor, Capital FM, Kenya Bernard Momanyi

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments