Bye-election: APC wins in Benue, Nasarawa, Ebonyi, Ondo


By Our correspondents

All Progressives Congress, APC, have won candidate, Hon Terwase Peter Uche, has won the bye election for Guma 1 State Constituency.

Declaring the result at Daudu, the Returning Officer, Prof Julius Ikya of Joseph Sawuan Tarka University Makurdi, JOSTUM, said that the APC candidate polled 5,289 votes to defeat his closest rival, Jimmy Geoffrey of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP who polled 4,134 votes.

He said Terwase Peter Uche, having polled the highest number of votes, is hereby declared winner of the bye elections for Guma 1 State Constituency elections held on February 3, 2024.

Prof Ikya also stated that the Labour Party, LP candidate polled a total of 2,833 votes, the All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA, polled a total of 121 votes while the African Democratic Congress, ADC, polled 72 votes.

In Nasarawa, the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, declared Mohammed Adamu Omadifu/ the winner of the re-run election of Keana constituency

INEC returning Officer for Keana Constituency Associate Prof Hassan Imam who declared the election at the Constituency’s collation center in Keana Local government area last Saturday.

In Ebonyi, the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC has declared the All Progressives Congress Candidate, Prof Anthony Okorie Ani as the winner of Saturday’s Ebonyi South Senatorial by-election.

The Ebonyi Returning Officer for the election, Eze Uchechukwu, announced this on Sunday in Afikpo Local Government Area of Ebonyi State.

Eze disclosed that total votes of 56,363 were cast, while 695 of them were rejected votes.

According to him, the APC Candidate, Ani polled 46,270 votes to defeat his closest opponent, Ifeanyi Eleje of the All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA who garnered 3,513 in the election rerun.

He said the Silas Onu of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP polled 2,783 votes and Linus Okorie of the Labour Party, LP saored 2,710 votes in the election.

The Returning Officer declared that Mr Ani, the winner of the by-election, had been certified by the law and was returned elected.

Meanwhile, Ondo State Governor, Hon. Lucky Orimisan Aiyedatiwa, has described as heartwarming the victory of the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Ife Ehindero, in Saturday’s House of Representatives bye-election in Akoko North East/Akoko North West Federal Constituency.

The Returning Officer, Johnson Fasinmirin of the Federal University of Technology, Akure (FUTA), while announcing the results of the election on Saturday, said the APC candidate polled 35,504 votes to defeat his closest rival, Mr Bada Olalekan of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) who had 15,328 votes.

It was the first election to hold in the State under Governor Aiyedatiwa’s administration.