Edo CJ reviews panel probing Shaibu, substitutes 2 members


By Owen Eresoyen, Benin

The Chief Judge of Edo State, Justice Daniel Okungbowa, has made changes to the seven-man panel constituted to investigate the allegations leveled against the state deputy governor, Philip Shaibu, by the Edo State House of Assembly.

Chief Registrar of the State High Court, Benin, B.O Osawaru, in a statement on Friday, had announced the constitution of the panel by the Chief Judge, headed by retired Justice S. A. Omonua.

The alterations in the new list now have Prof. Boniface Omomion and Prof. Violet Aigbokhaevo delisted from the membership, while President Aigbokhian and Mariam Erakhoba Ilavbare brought in as the new members.

Justice S.A. Omonua (Rtd.) still retained his position as the panel Chairman while Professor Theresa Akpoghome, Mr. Oghogho Ayodele Oviasu, Surv. Dr. Andrew Oliha, Mr. Idris Abdulkareen, President Aigbokhian Esq and Mariam Erakhoba Ilavbare Esq are members.

Okungbowa said the constitution of the panel followed the resolution of the Edo State House of Assembly on March 19.

“In line with Section 188(5) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as amended), the Honourable the Chief Judge of Edo State, Honourable Justice D.I. Okungbowa has constituted the PANEL OF SEVEN PERSONS to investigate the allegations contained in the impeachment notice against the Deputy Governor of Edo State, Honourable Philip Shaibu,” he said.

The Edo State Assembly had on March 6, served a notice of impeachment on the deputy governor, Philip Shaibu over alleged misconduct and perjury with seven days ultimatum to respond to the petition.

Speaker of the House, Blessing Agbebaku, thereafter directed the Chief Judge of the State to constitute a panel to investigate the allegation.