Edo poll: INEC publishes candidate’s particulars at Local Government Area offices


By Owen Eresoyen, Benin

Edo State office of the Independent National Electoral Commission has pasted the particulars of party candidates and their running mates ahead of the governorship election slated for September 21.

The particulars were displayed at the INEC office in Aduwawa in Benin, and at all 18 local government offices in the state.

A visit to the Oredo Local Government Secretariat of INEC, the list was displayed on the notice board.

The state INEC head of voters education and publicity, Timidi Wariowei, said that the pasting of the particulars is in line with the electoral law, noting that parties, public can now view the particulars of the candidates and their running mate.

He said, “In Compliance to the law, today, being the 30th of March, 2024, the INEC Edo State Office and the I8 local government area offices have pasted form EC9 which is personal particulars of the 17 candidates and their deputies. The form also includes the credentials of the candidates.

“We have done this in line with the electoral law and the public and parties can go to all the local government offices to check the list,” he added.

In the displayed list, Uwaifo Osaro is the governorship candidate of Action Alliance (AA) while Aigbede Odion is listed as the deputy. Social Democratic Party (SDP), has Anerua Abdullai Aliu as the Ahmedu Paul is listed as the deputy.

Other are New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP), Azena Azemhe Friday (governorship candidate) and Alokha Sunday Omohkekhai (deputy), All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA), Osifo Isiah (governorship candidate) and Agunu Anthony (deputy), All People Movement (APM) Ugiagbe Odaro (governorship candidate) and Sylvester

Ezomo Timothy (deputy), All People Party (APP) Areleogbe Amos Osalumese (governorship candidate) and Oyarenua Paul Anwaosi (deputy),

Action Democratic Party (ADP), Akhime kingson Afere (governorship candidate) and Obazee Ramatu (deputy).

For the African Action Congress (AAC) Udoh Oberaiafo is the governorship candidate, while Lawal Abdulhafiz is the deputy. Others are Zenith Labour Party (ZLP), Akhalamhe Amiemenoghena.(Governorship candidate) and Idubo Joyce Olamilayo (deputy), Peoples Democratic Party, (PDP), Ighodalo Asuerinme (governorship candidate),

Osarodion Ogie (deputy), Boot party (BP) Osirame Edeipo (governorship candidate) and Okhaide Rotimi Festus (deputy), African Democratic Congress

(ADC) Obazele Paul Agbone (governorship candidate), Frank Ilaboya (deputy), Labour Party (LP) Olumide Akpata Anthony (governorship candidate) and Alufohai Oluyinka Faith (deputy), All Progressives Congress (APC), Okpebholo Monday governorship candidate and Dennis Idahosa deputy), People Redemption Party (PRP), Key Patience Ndidi (governorship candidate)

Ojo Abuomwande Advice (deputy), Young Progressive Party (YPP) Okungbowa Paul Ovbokhan (governorship candidate) and Mustapha Hammed Tijani (deputy) and lastly Accord has Iyere Kennedy has its governorship candidate while Bright Enabulele is listed as the deputy.