Bayelsa Assembly confirms 13 out of 14 commissioner nominees


By Eunice Nnachi, Yenagoa

The Bayelsa State House of Assembly has screened and confirmed 13 out of 14 commissioner nominees sent by Governor Douye Diri.

The nominees, including Hon. Moses Teibowei, Hon. Peter Hafah, Maxwell Ebibai, Dr Ibieri Jones, and Hon. Dambo Biriyai, were questioned based on their areas of specialization and previous positions.

When Ebibai was asked what he will do differently, in order to boost internally generated revenue, he suggested that the three senatorial roads be taken to the sea, in order to connect the hither lands.

Also when Hon.Teibowei was asked the priority projects, he said roads and electricity are all important to the lives of people, as it will encourage small scale business and woo investors.

Two former lawmakers, Hon. Gentle Emelah and Hon. Ebiuwou Koku Obiyai, were asked to take a bow and leave as a privilege for ex-legislators. Daniel Igali was absent during the screening session.

The deputy Speaker, Michael Ogbere, and the Leader of the House, Monday Bubou-Obolo, advised the commissioner-designates to be team players, operate an all-inclusive policy, and support the governor to achieve set goals.

They were also urged to bring their wealth of experience to drive the policy direction of the government and work closely with the Assembly to improve Bayelsa.

The remaining nominees are Ayibakipreye Broderick, George Flint, Komoko Kharim, Perepuighe Biewari, Elizabeth Bidei, and Michael Magbisa.