Abejide retains Yagba Federal Constituency seat in landslide victory


By Friday Idachaba, Lokoja

Hon. Leke Abejide, candidate of the African Democratic Congress (ADC), has retained his seat in the National Assembly with a landslide victory in the Saturday Presidential/National Assembly Elections.

Abejide who currently represents Yagba Federal Constituency at the House of Representatives was on Sunday declared winner of the election conducted in the three Local Government Areas that constitute the Constituency.

The parliamentarian won in Mopamuro, Yagba-West and Yagba-East Local Government Areas that make up the Yagba Federal Constituency.

Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Collation Officer, Dr Stephen Okpanachi announced the results on Sunday in Isanlu, headquarters of the Federal Constituency.

Declaring the result, Okpanachi said Hon. Abejide (ADC) polled 23,271 votes to defeat his closest contestant and candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Engr Folorunsho Olafemi who garnered 10,426 votes.

Candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the race, Hon. Tolorunjuwon Faniyi, polled 6,421 votes to come a distant third.