BYSIEC issues Certificate of Return to Local government Chairmen


By Eunice Nnachi, Yenagoa

Bayelsa State Independent Electoral Commission (BYSIEC) has issued certificates of return to the Chairmen and Vice Chairmen-elect of the eight Local Government Areas in the state.

The election, which took place on April 6, 2024, was won by the People’s Democratic Party in all eight Local Government Areas

The BYSIEC Chairman, Dr. Peter Singabele, urged the elected officials to deliver the dividends of democracy to the people at the grassroots.

In a response on behalf of other elected Chairmen and Vice Chairmen, Chairman of Yenagoa Local Government Council, Mr. Bulodisiye Ndiwari thanked Governor Douye Diri and the Deputy Governor, Lawrence Ewhrudjakpo and other stakeholders and supporters for their support, pledging to justify the confidence reposed in them by improving the quality of lives of the people in the various Council areas.

Other elected Chairmen present at the ceremony were Lucky Febo for Brass Local Government Area, Golden Jeremiah for Ogbia, Chief David Alagoa for Nembe and Target Segibo for Southern Ijaw.

Others were Lelei Tariye Isaac for Kolokuma/Opokuma, Onniye Isaac, for Ekeremor, and Mrs. Alice Allen-Tangi, the only elected woman for Sagbama.

Nigerian Pilot reports that, the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Bayelsa State has swept the local government election conducted by the State Independent Electoral Commission last Saturday.

The PDP won the chairmanship position in all eight local government areas and all the councillors positions in the 105 wards.

The major opposition party in the state, the All Progressives Congress (APC), shunned the poll as it did not field candidates.

Elected Councilors for the 105 wards will be sworn in on Tuesday across the eight Local Councils