APC clinches 22 in Kogi 25-seat Assembly, 2 women win constituency seats


By Friday Idachaba, Lokoja

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has won 22 out of the 25 House of Assembly Seats in Kogi State at the just concluded House of Assembly Election.

According to the results announced and released by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) the APC won 22 Seats, Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP), two seats and the African Democratic Party (ADC), one seat.

The PDP won in Bassa and Ogori-Magongo State Constituencies while the ADC won only in Yagba-West to make the in-coming 8th Legislative Assembly in the state.

The Nigerian Pilot reports that the APC, presently occupies the 25 seats of the 7th Legislative Assembly of the state.

Meanwhile, two female candidates were declared winners in the just concluded state Assembly election to break the jinx of male domination of the Legislature in Kogi state.

Comfort Nwuchola won the Ibaji state Constituency seat while Omotayo Adeleye-Ishaya won that of Ijumu state constituency

Emergence of Nwuchola and Adeleye-Ishaya both candidates of All
Progressives Congress (APC) is expected to correct some anomalies arising from non-representation of women in the House.

Aberrations such as men overseeing the House Committee on Women Affairs aside performance of oversights on women and gender issues are also expected to be addressed. (Ends)