Saturday, August 13, 2022
Google search engine
HomeMetro NewsFG demands accountability, transparency from civil servants

FG demands accountability, transparency from civil servants

By Emmanuel Obisue

As part of continuous effort to strengthen and re-invigorate its workforce, the Head of Civil Service of the Federation, Dr Folasade Yemi-Esan has requested for consistent accountability and transparency from civil servants.

She disclosed this on Tuesday, during the inauguration and opening of a two-day capacity building workshop for the Central Delivery Coordination Unit, CDCU, Task Team of the Office of Head of the Civil Service of the Federation.

Yemi-Esan who was represented at the event by the Permanent Secretary, Common Services Office, Alhaji Ibrahim Yusuf, noted that the CDCU is domiciled in the Office of the Secretary General of the Federation, OSGF, who has directed all Ministries, Extra-Ministerial Departments and Agencies, MDAs to set up such units to synergize and take ownership of the initiative, also escalate developments in their various sectors to the OSGF.

It was in compliance with this directive that a Task Team was constituted in the Office of the Head of the Civil Service of the Federation. “Today’s inauguration of the Task Team and capacity building for the CDCU is, therefore, a key performance indicator of our keen sense of leadership on service delivery,” the HoS stated.

The HoS emphasized the need to ensure that all staff in Units, Divisions and Departments of MDAs are held accountable on a continuous basis towards ensuring that national goals are achieved, while urging the newly inaugurated committee members to pay rapt attention and fully participate by contributing meaningfully to discussions during the workshop.

Speaking in a goodwill message, Umaru Abu of the Foreign Commonwealth and Development Office said his organization will continue to support the civil service to, once again, stand firmly on its feet. “We will continue to support and collaborate with the Federal Government,” he pledged.

The newly inaugurated committee consists of 14 members drawn from departments and parastatals of the Office of the Head of Service with the Director, Planning, Analytics and Monitoring, Dr. Anne Nzegwu, chairing.

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments