Bayelsa Assembly elections: PDP clinches 17 seats, APC 4, APGA 2


By Eunice Nnachi, Yenagoa

Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has clinched 17 of the seats of the Bayelsa State House of Assembly Election results declared out of 24 seats.

From the declaration by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, the All Progressives Congress (APC) and the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) also won four (4) seats and All Progressive Grand Alliance APGA two (2) seats respectively.

From the 23 seats so far declared, PDP has won 17, APC 4 and APGA 2 as only that of Ogbia Constituency 2 election is remaining following the attack at the Registration Area Center at Okodi by arsonists who burnt electoral materials for some wards.

The Speaker of the Bayelsa State House of Assembly, Mr. Abraham Ingobere of the Peoples Democratic Party is among those returning to the House having scored 5,973 votes to defeat his closest challenger, Oberiakumo Yousuo of the All Progressives Congress who had 981 votes in the Brass Constituency 3 election as declared by the Returning Officer, Dr. Jeremiah Samuel.

Shortly afterwards, Mr. Ingobere who is going for a 4th term commended INEC and security agencies for the peaceful polls across the State promising to give his constituents better representation.

In Brass Constituency 2, Timi Omubo Agala of the APC is returning having registered 3175 votes just as Charles Daniel of the PDP returns having won Brass Constituency 1 with 4116 votes.

Nembe Constituency 1 was won by Otiegbanyo Barah of the All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA with 4971 votes defeating incumbent lawmaker, Ebi Ben-Ololo who had served two terms; Nembe Constituency 2 went to Edward Brigidi of APC who scored 1,651 votes while Douglas Sampson also of the APC won Nembe Constituency 3 elections with 1367 votes.

Richard Ibegu of the PDP Clinched Ogbia Constituency 1 with 5632 votes, Michael Ogbara of the PDP won Ogbia Constituency 3 with 5597 votes.

In Yenagoa Constituency 1, Egba Ayibanengiyefa of the PDP won with 14,369 votes, Waikumo Amakoromo of APGA was elected in Yenagoa Constituency 2 with 4971 votes having beaten incumbent Mrs. Ebuwou Koku-Obiyai of the PDP who has had two terms, as Yenagoa Constituency 3 went to Teddy Elemefuro of PDP who garnered 4206 votes.

Kolokuma-Opokuma Constituency 1 was won by Werinipre Pamoh of the PDP with 7536 votes, edging Appah Suoyo of APGA, a former staff of the FRCN, while Wisdom Fafi of the PDP is re-elected for Kolokuma-Opokuma Constituency 2 with 6708 votes.

Sagbama Constituency 1 went to Godbless Onyinke of PDP with 9633 votes; Bernard Kenebai also of the PDP won Sagbama Constituency 2 with 5780 votes as Mrs. Ebizi Brown of the PDP clinched Sagbama Constituency 3 with 6462 votes.

Tare Porri of the PDP was re-elected for Ekeremor Constituency 1 with 4216 votes as Mitin Living of PDP also won Ekeremor Constituency 2 with 9067 votes while Ogbere Michael of the PDP won the Ekeremor Constituency 3 position with 3912 votes.

In Southern Ijaw Felix Bonny-Ayah of PDP is re-elected into Constituency 1 with 6,956 votes as Moses Marlon of PDP also got re-elected with 4759 votes in Southern Ijaw Constituency 3.

Southern Ijaw Constituency 2 was won by the Leader of the House, Monday Obolo of the PDP with 4,228 votes, as Ben Selekaye Victor of the APC scored 5230 votes to clinch the Southern Ijaw Constituency 4 seat.

Meanwhile, details are emerging over the attack and burning of INEC materials at the Registration Area Center at Okodi in Ogbia Local Government Area in the early hours on the House of Assembly Election Day.

Nigerian Pilot reports that electoral materials for Wards 2, 3, 4 and 5 in the Ayama clan of Ogbia LGA were burnt in the attack.